Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

We held our inaugural Oakwell Hall Of Fame awards on Friday night!

15 October 2018

Club News

We held our inaugural Oakwell Hall Of Fame awards on Friday night!

15 October 2018

The Copier Systems Legends Suite played host to a spectacular evening as legends were inducted and memories replayed!

Over on iFollow Barnsley we have the full event available to watch for our subscribers and a condensed version over on our official YouTube channel.

There were six individual inductees in this debut year of the Oakwell Hall Of Fame

The man who 'made' Barnsley Football Club, way back in 1887, the Reverend Tiverton Preedy was our first inductee and on behalf of the Church and the Preedy name, Club Chaplain, Peter Amos was on hand to accept the award, given to him by Club Historian, David Wood.

David Wood and Peter Amos

'Mr Barnsley', the late, great Norman Rimmington BEM was an initial inductee also. A man who served his beloved football club until his very last days with us, Norman would have probably thought this honour was too much, such was his character. His Grandson, Richard Ward accepted the honour which was presented to him on the evening by Head Of Physiotherapy at Oakwell and close colleague of Rimmo, Craig Sedgwick.

Craig Sedgwick and Richard Ward

There were Community Champion awards given to former Reds striker Bruce Dyer, presented to him by Academy Manager and former Reds defender, Bobby Hassell; Mascot Coordinator, Laurie Handley has worked voluntarily at the club for 50 years and he too was rewarded, with Official Club Artist, Ben Mosley presenting him with his trophy on the night.

Bobby Hassell and Bruce Dyer

Third inductee on the night was club legend Barry Murphy. Still the record appearance holder at Barnsley Football Club and still working at the club on matchdays, Barry was presented with his induction award by Barnsley FC Director, Robert Zuk.

Robert Zuk and Barry Murphy

'The King' was next up for induction. Ronnie Glavin was quite arguably the greatest player of his era to don the famous Red shirt and his son Conor was on hand to present his father with his award. 

Conor and Ronnie Glavin

Fast forward to the 1990's and 'Captain Fantastic' himself won the fans' vote for induction into the Oakwell Hall Of Fame. Neil Redfearn was an outstanding leader who helped the Reds reach the top flight for the first - and so far only - time in our history. He was presented his award by his former Chairman, John Dennis.

John Dennis and Neil Redfearn

One of the finest men to come out of Barnsley was at the heart of that 1990's success, which followed a hugely successful time as a player himself at Oakwell, and Eric Winstanley was presented with the 'Local Hero' award on the night by his former sidekick, Danny Wilson.

Danny Wilson and Eric Winstanley

The mercurial talents of Adam Hammill have been seen more recently at Oakwell and he was the winner of the 'Moment Of Magic' award. Adam was given his award by compere for the evening, Matchday Announcer, Jason Thelwell.

Jason with Adam Hammill

Our final inductee of 2018's inaugural Oakwell Hall Of Fame awards was former Barnsley FC custodian Patrick Cryne. Peter Amos returned to the stage to present the award to Patrick's son and Club Director, James Cryne

Peter Amos and James Cryne

It was a special evening and we will look to do it all again in the future!

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account