Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

McCourt Goal in Final 5

1 March 2014

Sky Sports’ Soccer AM and The Football League have announced the final shortlist of five goals in the running to be named Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2014. 

The players and clubs in the final shortlist for the Mitre Goal of the Year are: 

Paddy McCourt – Barnsley (v. Middlesbrough)

Jay Emmanuel-Thomas – Bristol City (v. Bristol Rovers)

Franck Moussa – Coventry City (v. Leyton Orient)

James Poole – Hartlepool United (v. Notts County)

Troy Deeney – Watford (v. Leicester City) 

A Football League panel pulled together the top ten strikes of last year following submissions from each of the 72 Football League clubs. The ten contenders for the award were then shown on Soccer AM and viewers’ votes decided the final five.

The overall winner will be announced following a live vote on the night of the Football League Awards on Sunday 16th March. 

The previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005). 

All of the 72 goals from 2013 nominated by clubs can be seen on The Football League’s official YouTube channel

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block